Time flies when you’re having fun (or when proper jobs get in the way)

Wow!  I can’t believe that it’s been so long since I wrote anything on here.

I have been massively busy with ‘proper’ jobs and I can’t deny that there have been times when I’ve thought about abandoning Vintage Revisited – not because I don’t love it (I absolutely do!) but sometimes, it’s a bit too easy to lose faith.

I love making and creating from the various bits and pieces of vintage and retro that I find: I don’t think I’ll ever tire of working out new ways to re-invent scraps of fabric, re-use found buttons or upcycle abandoned pieces of furniture.

Yes, it can be soul-destroying when you’ve sourced materials, spent hours designing, trying and retrying processes and putting your heart into make a little piece of loveliness only to have someone at a fair say, “I’m going to try that at home. Can you tell me how you did it?”

atlasbags

Using old atlases to make gift bags, tags and cards is a great recycling tip and guarantees a unique piece every time.

Some ideas I love sharing – making old atlases into gift bags, tags and cards is such a great thing to do and guarantees that every piece is absolutely unique – but working out a pattern, spending hours hand-sewing and pricing it at a fraction of actual time and cost makes you yearn for trumpet heralds, drum rolls, whoops of joy or even just a pat on the back.

But I have to remind myself, that’s not why I do it – I love it, I really do.  So, if ever you meet me at a craft fair and I seem a little disheartened, make my day and remind me that every piece on my table carries a little bit of my heart and actually, the delight for me is when someone understands that and believes in me enough to buy and share that joy.

birds

Little birds all in a row… hand-sewn and embellished birds created from recycled vintage fabric

I have been lucky enough to join up with a local cooperative of artists, artisans and designers, Love Handmade who have been immeasurably supportive in my endeavours.  We remind ourselves often that what we are achieving may not bring about world peace or even rock everyone’s world, but hopefully, we all manage to spread a little bit of happy with our handcrafted pieces – we’re pretty sure that the cake we serve at our events does!

About nicciselby

Creating a living from what I love - crafting and creating vintage inspired loveliness from anything recycled...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

